top of page

What memory would you erase and what would be the consequences?

I love this question.

I love the question because it makes you think about different situations you have been in past and present.

Would you actually erase the memory though? And what consequences would it cause?

I didn't have the best childhood and anyone who has worked closely with me will know this so when i ask myself this question this is the first scenario that enters my mind.

There was emotional and physical abuse, regularly. I didn't have much of a childhood at all in fact i would genuinely and honestly say i feel like my childhood was robbed and before i knew it i was in teenage years. I developed a lot of mis trust, anxiety, doubt and overall a foggy and negative mindset. I was not a nice person to be around, i couldn't see the good in any situation. I was genuinely a horrible person because of the way i was treated.

The consequneces of erasing this memory? Mmmmm - i definitely 100% would not be who i am today if i was not in this situation. I could have done many things, i could have become so helpless and given up on life, i could have gone completely off the rails and destroyed my own life some more, i could have become addicted to substance and again ruined my life. But i don't think i would ever erase this memory. So much good has come from it.

I've met some absolutely amazing people.

I've been supported by people who i never imagined would help me.

I've some gorgeous siblings who i wouldn't change for the world.

I've a gorgeous niece and nephew and i flipping love the bones of them.

I've rekindled lost relationships with my Nanna (who sadly passed last year) my aunties and my cousin after being barred from seeing them and all contact stopped.

I met some amazing foster carers - so thankful and grateful for them. Amazing, amazing people!

I've done a lot of self development.

I've worked on myself like their is no tomorrow.

I have my own business.

I help clients daily who require guidance and coaching in certain areas and the feeling of helping others is just unbelievable - you never work a day in your life if you do what you love! This is me!

It gave me the get up and go to turn my life around.

I fought harder than ever to get to where i want to be in life.

I have more passion and drive than ever before.

I could go on and on and on and on - so much positive has come from that 16 years of torture.

So no i wouldn't erase the memory. The consequences of deleting it would be catastrophic.

How about you? Ask yourself the question?

Write down the consequences and the situation - weigh them up. See what conclusion you come to. If you feel you want too let me know how you get on.

bottom of page